Datenschutz und Sicherheitsrichtlinien



Ihre Daten und Ihre Privatsphäre sind uns wichtig. In diesem Dokument wird in – so hoffen wir – leicht verständlicher Form beschrieben, wie Clue mit Ihren Daten umgeht.

Sie können auch den englischen Artikel What it Means to be a Good Data Company, von Clue-CEO Ida Tin lesen. Wenn Sie weitere Informationen wünschen, können Sie Kontakt zu uns aufnehmen.

Clue stammt aus Berlin und unser Umgang mit Daten entspricht den in Deutschland geltenden gesetzlichen Vorschriften.


  • 1. Nutzung Ihrer Daten

    Wir sammeln Daten im Hinblick auf zwei Ziele: (1) Ihnen einen hervorragenden Service zu bieten und (2) zum Fortschritt der weltweiten Forschung im Bereich der Frauengesundheit beizutragen. Wir arbeiten mit mehreren hoch angesehenen akademischen Forschungsinstitutionen zusammen. Weitere Informationen zu unseren laufenden Kooperationen im Bereich Forschung finden Sie hier.

    Die Vision von Ida Tin, der Gründerin von Clue, lautet, mit Clue die Frauengesundheit weltweit voranzubringen. In der akademischen und klinischen Forschung sind sehr wenig anonyme langfristige oder großangelegte Datenbestände zur Zyklusgesundheit verfügbar, sodass Clue als Anbieter anonymer Daten die Forschung unterstützen kann. Bevor Clue Daten für die Forschung zur Verfügung stellt, werden die Daten anonymisiert, d. h., sämtliche Informationen, anhand derer sich einzelne Personen identifizieren lassen, werden entfernt. Anonyme Daten zur Zyklusgesundheit können genutzt werden, wenn Clue mit klinischen und akademischen Forschungsinstitutionen zusammenarbeitet, und Clue veröffentlicht möglicherweise die Ergebnisse aus akademischer, klinischer oder interner Forschung in Form von Datenvisualisierungen oder Textberichten.

  • 2. Von uns gesammelte persönliche Daten

    Der Begriff „persönliche Daten“ umfasst sämtliche Informationen, durch die Sie direkt oder indirekt identifiziert werden. Dazu gehören Angaben wie Name, Adresse, Telefonnummer, E-Mail-Adresse oder Geburtsdatum.

    „Nicht persönliche Daten“ sind Informationen, die nicht mit Ihrer Identität in Verbindung gebracht werden können, z. B. die Anzahl der Besucher, die unsere Services nutzen, oder sonstige aggregierte Informationen.

    2.1

    Wenn Sie die Clue-App nutzen, ohne ein Konto zu erstellen, werden Profil und Zyklusverfolgungsdaten nur auf Ihrem Gerät gespeichert und Clue hat darauf keinen Zugriff.

    In diesem Fall erhält Clue nur Nutzungsdaten, die von Ihrem Gerät gesendet werden, während Sie Clue verwenden, etwa Ihre IP-Adresse, das Betriebssystem Ihres Mobilgeräts (z. B. Android oder iOS), Typ und Modell des Geräts oder Netzanbieter. Dies hilft uns dabei, Funktionsstörungen zu ermitteln und die Clue-App weiter zu verbessern.

    Wenn Sie jedoch über einen Drittanbieter-Service, z. B. iCloud, ein Backup Ihres Geräts durchführen, werden sämtliche auf Ihrem Gerät gespeicherten persönlichen Daten zum betreffenden Drittanbieter übertragen. Falls Sie einen Drittanbieter-Service nutzen, finden Sie Informationen zum Schutz Ihrer persönlichen Daten in der dazugehörigen Datenschutzrichtlinie.

    2.2

    Wenn Sie in der Clue-App ein Konto erstellen, erfassen und speichern wir die folgenden Daten (sofern Sie diese in Clue eingegeben haben):

    • Profildaten, einschließlich Name, Alter und E-Mail-Adresse. Sie können beim Einrichten von Clue einige diese Angaben überspringen, sodass Sie sie möglicherweise nicht gemacht haben.
    • Ihre Einstellungsdaten, mit deren Hilfe Clue von Ihnen vorgenommene Anpassungen speichert (d. h. aktivierte Erinnerungen, spezifische Benachrichtigungen, die Reihenfolge der Verfolgungskategorien usw.). Dadurch funktioniert Clue weiterhin ganz nach Ihren Wünschen, auch wenn Sie es nach einem Backup wiederherstellen.
    • Zyklusverfolgungsdaten, darunter alles, was Sie in Clue verfolgen, z. B. Dauer der Periode, Blutungen, Schmerzen. Dazu können auch Informationen zum allgemeinen Gesundheitszustand gehören, z. B. Gewicht, Körpertemperatur, Zustand von Haar und Haut sowie sexuelle Aktivität, vorausgesetzt, Sie verfolgen diese Daten mit Clue.

    Wenn Sie bei Clue ein Konto haben, werden die auf Ihrem Gerät gespeicherten Daten auf den Servern von Clue gespeichert, um Ihnen eine Backup-Funktion sowie zusätzliche Funktionen im Rahmen des Clue-Service zur Verfügung zu stellen.

    Indem Sie bei Clue ein Konto erstellen, erklären Sie sich mit Folgendem einverstanden:

    • Clue darf von Ihnen angegebene persönliche Daten speichern und verarbeiten, um den Clue-Service bereitzustellen. Außerdem darf Clue diese Daten speichern und verarbeiten, um die von Clue angebotenen Services zu verbessern. Zu diesen Services gehört es, Ihnen Informationen und Erinnerungen mit persönlichen Daten über die App oder an die bei Clue hinterlegte E-Mail-Adresse zu senden.
    • Clue nutzt Ihre Zyklusverfolgungsdaten möglicherweise dazu, anonymisierte Informationen für die akademische und klinische Forschung zu erstellen, wobei Clue garantiert, das derartige Forschungsdaten weder mit Ihrer Person in Verbindung gebracht werden können noch Sie in irgendeiner Weise identifizieren.

    Sie können Ihre Zustimmung jederzeit zurückziehen, indem Sie bei Clue die Löschung Ihres Kontos beantragen. Wenden Sie sich dazu an das [Support-Team von Clue]. Sie können die Clue-App ohne Konto weiterhin nutzen, jedoch werden Ihre Daten dann nicht mehr auf den Servern von Clue gespeichert, sodass Sie Backups manuell durchführen müssen.

    Clue gibt Ihre persönlichen Daten nicht an Dritte weiter, mit Ausnahme von Dienstleistern, die benötigt werden, um die von Ihnen genutzten Funktionen für Clue bereitzustellen.

    2.3

    Wenn Sie ein Problem mit unserem Service feststellen und eine Anfrage an unser Support-Team senden oder anderweitig mit Clue kommunizieren, speichern wir den Kommunikationsverlauf sowie die von Ihnen in diesem Rahmen gesendeten Informationen (z. B. Ihre E-Mail-Adresse). Dadurch gewährleisten wir, dass wir auf Anfragen antworten und Support leisten können.

    2.4

    Wenn Sie unsere Website nutzen, erfasst unser Webserver unter anderem folgende Daten:

    • Ihre IP-Adresse
    • Die Website, von der aus Sie auf unsere Website geleitet wurden (z. B. über einen Link)
    • Die Seiten, die Sie auf unserer Website besuchen
    • Den Browser, den Sie verwenden, und dessen Anzeigeeinstellungen
    • Ihr Betriebssystem
    • Datum und Dauer Ihres Besuchs
    • Weitere persönliche Daten werden nur dann gespeichert und verarbeitet, wenn Sie sie uns freiwillig angeben, z. B. über ein Kontaktformular

    Clue analysiert Daten zur Website-Nutzung, um Inhalt und Funktionen der Website zu optimieren sowie technische Probleme zu ermitteln.

  • 3. Datensicherheit

    Wir treffen Sicherheitsvorkehrungen, um unter unserer Kontrolle stehende persönliche Daten vor Missbrauch, Verlust und Änderungen zu schützen, und richten uns dabei nach den Best Practices der Branche, sodass beim Übertragen und Speichern Ihrer Daten transparente und bekannte Prinzipien angewendet werden. Obwohl wir nicht garantieren können, dass es niemals zu Missbrauch, Verlust oder Änderungen kommt, unternehmen wir sämtliche vertretbaren Anstrengungen, um solche Probleme zu verhindern.

    3.1 Speicherung persönlicher Daten durch Clue

    Wenn Sie bei Clue ein Konto haben, werden Ihre persönlichen Profildaten von Ihren Zyklusverfolgungsdaten und Ihren Service-Einstellungen getrennt gespeichert, sodass für die Informationen zu Ihrem Zyklus ein sehr hohes Maß an Datenschutz gewährleistet ist. Ihr Kennwort wird mithilfe einer Einwegfunktion (Kombination aus „Hash“ und „Salt“) verschlüsselt und kann von uns nicht gelesen werden.

    Beim Übertragen Ihrer Daten zwischen Ihrem Gerät und den Servern von Clue wird das HTTPS-Protokoll zur Verschlüsselung verwendet. HTTPS ist dieselbe Technologie, mit der in Ihrem Webbrowser sichere Verbindungen hergestellt werden, und wird durch ein Vorhängeschloss-Symbol im Browser angezeigt.

    3.2 Empfehlungen von Clue zum Schutz Ihrer Daten

    Unserer Ansicht nach ist die größte Bedrohung für die Sicherheit und Vertraulichkeit Ihrer Daten die Gefahr, dass jemand – wahrscheinlich jemand, den Sie kennen – Zugang zu einem Ihrer Geräte erhält. Die Daten, die Sie in Clue eingeben, sind privat und sollen es auch bleiben. Im Folgenden beschreiben wir einige Methoden, um Ihre Geräte zu schützen.

    • Aktivieren Sie für Clue einen eindeutigen PIN-Code bzw. aktivieren Sie Touch ID (iOS). Wenn Sie das Gerät mit jemand anderem gemeinsam nutzen, können Sie mithilfe eines eindeutigen PIN-Codes bzw. von Touch ID sicherstellen, dass Sie weiterhin die einzige Person sind, die über dieses Gerät auf Ihre Clue-Daten zugreifen kann.
    • Aktivieren Sie die Authentifizierung mit PIN bzw. Touch ID (iOS) für Ihr Gerät. Dadurch werden Ihre Clue-Daten automatisch verschlüsselt und niemand kann Ihr Gerät ohne Ihre Erlaubnis verwenden.
    • Richten Sie eine Funktion ein, mit deren Hilfe Sie alle Daten von Ihrem Gerät löschen können, auch wenn es verloren gegangen ist oder gestohlen wurde. Unter iOS erfolgt das Aktivieren dieser Funktion in zwei Schritten: Zuerst müssen Sie über iCloud die Funktion „Mein iPhone suchen“ aktivieren (siehe Anleitung auf den Support-Seiten von Apple) und anschließend die Funktion „Ihr Gerät löschen“ aktivieren (siehe Anleitung auf den Support-Seiten von Apple).
    • Für Android oder andere Geräte ohne iOS sind ähnliche Funktionen verfügbar.

    Wenn Sie kein Konto bei Clue registrieren, werden alle Ihre Daten auf Ihrem Gerät gespeichert und wir erhalten darauf keinen Zugriff. Falls Sie Clue löschen oder Ihr Gerät verlieren, werden Ihre in Clue gespeicherten Daten ebenfalls gelöscht bzw. gehen verloren. Wenn Sie bei Clue kein Konto haben, empfiehlt es sich dringend, regelmäßig ein Backup Ihrer Clue-Daten durchzuführen.

    So führen Sie ohne Konto ein Backup von Clue unter iOS durch:

    • Nutzen Sie die Backup-Lösung von Apple über iTunes oder iCloud. Anleitungen hierzu finden Sie auf den Support-Seiten von Apple.
    • Nutzen Sie die Backup-Funktion von Clue, um Ihre Daten an einem Speicherort Ihrer Wahl zu speichern. Diese Daten können Sie als eigenes Backup bei Bedarf wieder in Clue importieren und Sie müssen weder die Kontofunktion von Clue noch die von Apple über iTunes oder iCloud angebotenen Backups nutzen.

    So führen Sie ohne Konto ein Backup von Clue unter Android durch:

    • Nutzen Sie die Backup- und Importfunktionen von Clue, um Ihre Daten an einem Speicherort Ihrer Wahl zu speichern. Diese Daten können Sie als persönliches Backup bei Bedarf wieder in Clue importieren.
  • 4. Datentransfer außerhalb der EU / Drittanbieter Service

    4.1

    Erfasste persönliche Daten dürfen nur in Länder außerhalb der Europäischen Union bzw. des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums (EWR) übertragen werden, wenn die entsprechenden Datenschutzvorschriften eingehalten und Ihre Rechte bezüglich Ihrer Privatsphäre gewahrt werden.

    4.2 Apple Health

    Clue tauscht nur mit vorheriger Genehmigung, die Sie jederzeit widerrufen können, persönliche Daten mit Apple Health aus. Wenn Sie Ihre Genehmigung erteilt haben, darf Clue mit dem auf Ihrem iOS-Gerät installierten Apple HealthKit interagieren sowie zwischen der Clue-App und Apple Health Informationen lesen oder schreiben. Sie können entscheiden, ob und in welchem Umfang Ihre persönlichen Daten zwischen Clue und Apple Health ausgetauscht werden, indem Sie in den Einstellungen von Apple Health Berechtigungen erteilen und entziehen.

    4.3 Google Analytics

    Unsere Website nutzt Google Analytics, einen von Google Inc. („Google“) betriebenen Web-Analyseservice. Google Analytics setzt Cookies (Textdateien) ein, die auf Ihrem Computer gespeichert werden und eine Analyse Ihres Besuchs auf der Website ermöglichen. Über Cookies erzeugte Informationen werden auf einen von Google betriebenen Server in den USA übertragen und dort gespeichert. Um zu verhindern, dass über IP-Adressen Ihre persönlichen Daten erfasst werden, nutzen wir für Google Analytics das Add-on „_anonymizeIp()“. Dadurch wird eine gekürzte (anonymisierte) IP-Adresse an Google gesendet.

    Google analysiert diese Informationen, um Clue Berichte über die Nutzung der Website und die Online-Nutzung der dazugehörigen Services anzubieten. Außerdem darf Google diese Informationen an Dritte übertragen, wenn dies aufgrund gesetzlicher Vorschriften erforderlich ist oder diese Dritten von Google mit der Verarbeitung von Daten beauftragt wurden. Google lässt nicht zu, dass Ihre IP-Adresse mit anderen persönlichen Daten verknüpft wird. Sie können durch entsprechende Einstellungen in Ihrem Browser verhindern, dass Cookies auf Ihrem Computer installiert werden; dies kann jedoch dazu führen, dass Ihr Besuch auf unserer Website und die Nutzung einiger Funktionen nicht funktionieren. Indem Sie die Website von Clue nutzen, haben Sie zugestimmt, dass nicht persönliche Daten von Google wie oben beschrieben genutzt und verarbeitet werden. Sie können Ihre Zustimmung zur Erfassung und Verarbeitung Ihrer Daten jederzeit widerrufen, wobei dieser Widerruf jedoch nur für zukünftige Aktivitäten gilt.

    4.4 Branch

    Clue nutzt einen Drittanbieter-Service von Branch Metrics Inc., einem Unternehmen mit Sitz in den USA, für Funktionen, die sogenannte „Deep Links“ erfordern. Damit ermöglichen wir es Ihnen beispielsweise, Ihre Freundinnen zur Nutzung von Clue einzuladen sowie die App aus dem App Store oder dem Google Play Store herunterzuladen. Über die Deep Links werden Nutzungsdaten wie etwa Ihre IP-Adresse an Branch Metrics gesendet. Ihre Zyklusverfolgungsdaten werden durch die Nutzung von Deep Links nicht an Dritte übertragen.

    4.5 Amplitude

    Clue nutzt einen Datenanalyseservice von Amplitude. Amplitude wiederum nutzt Gerätekennungen, die auf Ihrem Mobilgerät gespeichert sind und es ermöglichen, Ihre Nutzung der Clue-App zu analysieren. Für die Website-Analyse setzt Amplitude sogenannte „Cookies“ (kleine Textdateien) ein, die auf Ihrem Computer gespeichert werden und eine Analyse Ihres Besuchs auf unserer Website ermöglichen. Daten bezüglich Ihrer Nutzung werden auf einen von Amplitude betriebenen Server in den USA übertragen und dort gespeichert.

    Sie können durch entsprechende Einstellungen in Ihrem Browser verhindern, dass Cookies auf Ihrem Computer installiert werden; dies kann jedoch dazu führen, dass Ihr Besuch auf unserer Website und die Nutzung einiger Funktionen beeinträchtigt werden. Wenn Sie unseren Service nutzen, gilt dies als ausdrückliche Zustimmung, dass Ihre von Amplitude erfassten Daten wie oben beschrieben genutzt und verarbeitet werden.

    Sie können Ihre Zustimmung zur Erfassung und Verarbeitung Ihrer Daten jederzeit widerrufen, indem Sie auf den folgenden LINK klicken; dadurch erhalten Sie ein Cookie, das eine weitere Datenerfassung verhindert.

  • 5. Cookies

    Unsere Website nutzt Cookies – kleine Textdateien, die dazu beitragen, die Benutzerfreundlichkeit der Website zu verbessern. Im Allgemeinen dienen Cookies zum Speichern von Benutzereinstellungen oder Informationen zu Bereichen wie Einkaufswagen bzw. liefern anonymisierte Tracking-Daten für Drittanbieter-Anwendungen wie Google Analytics. In der Regel wird das Surfen durch Cookies verbessert. Sie können jedoch Cookies auf der Clue-Website deaktivieren. Die effektivste Methode besteht darin, Cookies in Ihrem Browser zu deaktivieren. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, Anleitungen für Ihren Browser bzw. Ihr Gerät in der Hilfe Ihres Browsers oder auf einer Website zum Thema Cookies nachzulesen.

  • 6. COPPA

    Clue erfasst und nutzt nicht wissentlich persönliche Daten von Kindern unter 13 Jahren. Bei der Registrierung für ein Clue-Konto müssen Sie bestätigen, dass Sie mindestens 13 Jahre alt sind. Falls Clue Kenntnis davon erlangt, dass in den USA Informationen von Kindern unter 13 Jahren erfasst wurden, was einen Verstoß gegen den Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act von 1998 und die dazugehörigen Bestimmungen darstellt, legt Clue diese Daten nicht offen und behält sich das Recht vor, das betreffende Konto unverzüglich zu löschen. Wenn Sie Fragen zum COPPA haben, senden Sie bitte eine E-Mail an data@helloclue.com.

  • 7. Änderungen an dieser Datenschutzrichtlinie

    Clue behält sich das Recht vor, bei Änderungen an gesetzlichen Vorschriften, an unseren Praktiken hinsichtlich Datensammlung und -nutzung oder an den Funktionen von Clue-Services bzw. bei Fortschritten in der Technologie diese Datenschutzrichtlinien entsprechend zu ändern. Bitte überprüfen Sie diese Seite regelmäßig auf Änderungen. Falls wir eine Änderung an dieser Datenschutzrichtlinie vornehmen, die wir in unserem alleinigen Ermessen als erheblich einstufen, benachrichtigen wir Sie darüber, indem wir einen entsprechenden Hinweis auf unserer Website und in dieser Datenschutzrichtlinie veröffentlichen.

    Clue wird von der Biowink GmbH betrieben, einer deutschen Kapitalgesellschaft mit Sitz in Berlin.

Clue Privacy Policy



Your personal data and your privacy are important to us. We created this document to describe how Clue handles your personal data in a way that we hope is easy to understand.

You can also read What it Means to be a Good Data Company, by Clue’s CEO, Ida Tin.

Please contact us if you’d like more information.

Clue is made in Berlin, Germany, and the way we handle data meets the legal guidelines required in Germany.


  • 1. How your data is used

    We collect data with two goals in mind; (1) to provide you with a great service and (2) to help progress research into female health globally. We collaborate with several highly esteemed academic research institutions. You can read about our ongoing research collaborations here.

    The vision of Clue’s founder, Ida Tin, is for Clue to help advance female health globally. There is very little anonymous long-term or large-scale cycle health data available to academic and clinical researchers and Clue can help by providing anonymous data for research. Before Clue provides data for research, the data is anonymized by removing any information that can be used for the identification of individuals. Anonymous cycle health data may be used when Clue collaborates with clinical and academic researchers and Clue may publish the results of academic, clinical or internal research in the form of data visualizations or text findings.

  • 2. Personal data we collect

    “Personal data” includes any information that directly or indirectly identifies you. This includes things like your name, address, telephone number, email address or date of birth.

    “Non-personal data” is information that cannot be connected to your identity, e.g. the number of users visiting our services or any other kind of aggregated information.

    2.1

    If you use the Clue app without creating an account, your profile and cycle tracking data is only stored on your device and Clue does not have any access to it.

    In this instance, Clue only receives usage data provided by your device while you are using Clue, such as your IP address, mobile operating system (e.g. Android or iOS), device type and model, or network provider. This helps to identify app malfunctions and helps us further improve the Clue app.

    If, however, you backup your device using a third party service, such as iCloud, you will transfer all personal data stored on your device to the third party. If you are using a third party service, please refer to their privacy policy to ensure the privacy of your personal data.

    2.2

    If you create an account on the Clue app then we will collect and store the following data, providing you have entered it into Clue:

    • Profile data including your name, age and email address. You can skip some of this information during Clue’s setup, so you may have chosen not to provide this.
    • Your settings data which allows Clue to remember any customizations you have made (i.e. which reminders are active, customized notifications, the order of tracking categories, etc.) This helps Clue continue to work the way you want it to, even if you restore Clue from a backup.
    • Your cycle tracking data which includes the things you track in Clue, e.g. period length, bleeding, pain, etc. This could also include information about general health conditions such as weight, body temperature, hair and skin condition and sexual activity, providing you are tracking these using Clue.

    If you have an account with Clue, your data stored on your devices will also be stored on Clue’s servers to provide you with a backup functionality and with additional features within the Clue service.

    By creating an account with Clue you agree that:

    • Clue may store and process personal data you share with Clue in order to provide the Clue service to you. Clue may also store and process this data to improve the services Clue is able to offer. These services include sending you information and reminders featuring personal data through the app or to the email address you shared with Clue.
    • Clue may use your cycle tracking data to create anonymous information for academic and clinical research purposes, for which Clue warrants that such research data cannot be associated with you as an individual, or identify you in any way.

    You may withdraw your consent at any time by requesting that Clue delete your account. To do that, contact Clue’s support team. You will still be able to continue using the Clue app without an account, but please manually backup your data as this will no longer be stored on Clue’s servers.

    Clue does not share your personal data with third party service providers except as required to provide the Clue features you use.

    2.3

    If you recognize a problem with our service and submit a request to our support team or through any other means of communication with Clue, we store the communication history as well as the information submitted by you in the course of the communication (e.g. your email address). We do this in order to respond to inquiries and provide support.

    2.4

    When using our website, our web server will collect information such as:

    • Your IP address
    • The website from which you were referred to our website (e.g. if you followed a link)
    • The webpages you are visiting on our website
    • The browser you are using and its display settings
    • Your operating system
    • The date and duration of your visit
    • Further personal data will only be stored and processed if you voluntarily share it with us, e.g. through a contact form

    Clue analyzes website usage data to optimize the site’s content and functionality and to identify technical issues.

  • 3. Data Security

    We apply security measures to protect against the misuse, loss and alteration of personal information under our control and follow industry best practices, using open and known principles when transferring and storing your data. Though we cannot ensure or guarantee that misuse, loss or alteration of information will never occur, we use all reasonable efforts to prevent it.

    3.1 How Clue stores your personal data

    If you have an account with Clue, your personal profile data is stored separately from your cycle tracking data and your service settings, so that we can assure a very high level of privacy for your cycle information. Your password is stored using one-way encryption ("hashing" plus “salting”), and it cannot be read by us.

    Your data is transmitted between your device and Clue’s servers using HTTPS protocol for encryption. HTTPS is the same technology used to create secure connections for your web browser, and is indicated by a padlock icon in your browser.

    3.2 Clue’s best-practice recommendations to protect your data

    We believe the biggest threat to the security and privacy of your data is if someone – probably someone you know – gains access to any of your devices. The data you enter into Clue is private and it should stay that way. Below we have outlined some ways to keep your devices secure.

    • Activate a unique PIN code or activate TouchID (iOS) for Clue. If you share your device, activating a unique PIN code or TouchID will ensure you are still the only person who can access your Clue data via your phone.
    • Activate either PIN or TouchID (iOS) authentication for your device. This automatically encrypts your Clue data and prevents any person without permission from using your device.
    • Set up a feature that will allow you to erase all the data from your device, even if it’s been lost or stolen. For iOS, activating this feature is a two-step process: first you need to Activate “Find My iPhone” via iCloud (see instructions on Apple Support pages) and then enable “Erase your device” (see instructions on Apple Support pages)
    • Use similar features for your Android or other non-iOS device.

    If you don’t register an account with Clue, all of your data will be stored on your device and we won’t have access to it. If you delete Clue or lose your device, your data in Clue is also deleted or lost. If you don’t have an account with Clue, we strongly recommend that you make a backup of your Clue data regularly.

    To back up Clue on iOS without an account:

    • Use Apple’s backup solution via iTunes or iCloud. See Apple’s support pages for instructions.
    • Use Clue’s Backup feature to store your data in a location of your choice. This can serve as your own backup that you can import back into Clue if needed, and it does not require you to use Clue’s account feature or backups provided by Apple via iTunes or iCloud.

    To back up Clue on Android without an account:

    • Use Clue’s Backup/Import features to store your data in a location of your choice. This can serve as your personal backup that you can import back into Clue if needed.
  • 4. Data transfer outside EU and third party applications

    4.1

    Any personal data collected from you may only be transferred to countries outside the European Union / the European Economic Area (EEA) observing applicable privacy regulation and ensuring that your privacy rights remain protected.

    4.2 Apple Health

    Clue will not exchange any personal data with Apple Health without your prior approval, which can be revoked by you at any time. If you have given your approval, Clue may interact with the Apple HealthKit which is installed on your iOS device and read information or write information between Clue app and Apple Health. You can choose if and to what extent your personal data is exchanged between Clue and Apple Health by granting or revoking permission in the Apple Health settings.

    4.3 Google Fit

    Clue will not exchange any personal data with Google Fit without your prior approval, which can be revoked by you at any time. If you have given your approval, Clue may interact with Google Fit which is installed on your Android device and read information or write information between the Clue app and Google Fit. You can choose whether or not your personal data is exchanged between Clue and Google Fit by granting or revoking permission in the Google Fit settings.

    4.4 Third-party wearable devices (e.g. Fitbit, ŌURA and others)

    Clue will not exchange any personal data with your third-party wearable devices (such as Fitbit, ŌURA etc.) without your prior approval, which can be revoked by you at any time. If you have given your approval, Clue may interact with the respective third-party device software which is installed on your Android or iPhone device and read information or write information between the Clue app and your respective third party device. You can choose whether or not your personal data is exchanged between Clue and these third-party devices by granting or revoking permission in their respective settings.

    4.5 Google Analytics

    Our website uses Google Analytics, a web analysis service operated by Google Inc. (“Google”). Google Analytics uses cookies (text files) which are stored on your computer and allow for analysis of your visit to the site. Information produced via cookies will be transferred to and stored on a server in the USA operated by Google. To avoid your personal data being collected through IP addresses, we use Google Analytics add-on “_anonymizeIp()”. As a result, a shortened (or anonymous) IP address is sent to Google.

    Google analyzes this information to offer reports for Clue on website usage and online usage of associated services. Google may also transfer this information to third parties either where this is required by law or where third parties are contracted by Google to process data. Google will not allow your IP address to be linked to any other personal data. You can prevent cookies from being installed on your computer by changing your browser settings; however, if you choose to do this, your visit to our website and use of some features may not work. By using Clue’s website, you have consented to have non-personal data used and processed by Google as described above. You can withdraw consent for your data to be collected and processed at any time, but this withdrawal only applies to future activities.

    4.6 Branch

    Clue uses a third-party service, Branch Metrics Inc., a company based in the USA, for features where ‘deep linking’ is required. It is used e.g. to enable you to invite your friends to use Clue and download it from the App Store or Google Play Store. Using this deep linking service will send usage data such as your IP address to Branch Metrics. Using deep linking does not transfer any of your cycle tracking data to third parties.

    4.7 Amplitude

    Clue uses a data analysis service operated by Amplitude. Amplitude uses device identifiers that are stored on your mobile device and allow for analysis of your use of the Clue app. For website analysis, Amplitude uses ‘cookies’ (small text files) that are stored on your computer and allow for analysis of your visit to our website. Data concerning your use will be transferred to and stored on a server in the USA operated by Amplitude.

    You can prevent cookies from being installed on your computer by changing your browser settings; however, if you choose to do this, your visit to our website and use of some functionalities of our service may be impaired. By using our Service, you are deemed to have expressly consented to the use and processing of your data collected by Amplitude as described above.

    4.8 Adjust

    Clue uses an in app performance and analysis service by Adjust, a Berlin-based company that helps us understand how our users are interacting with our apps and how to optimize and analyze mobile ad campaigns. For such analysis and depending on your mobile operating system (iOS or Android), Adjust uses your given advertising identifier (Apple IDFA or your Google Play Services ID), and your IP- and MAC addresses that are modified in such a way that it is not possible to identify you or your mobile device individually.

    By using our Service, you are deemed to have expressly consented to the use and processing of your data collected by Adjust as described above.

    4.9 Facebook Lookalike Audience

    If you have communicated to Facebook that you are using the Clue app, Clue may use this information via a Facebook advertising service called “lookalike audiences” to identify potential new Clue users based on the Facebook characteristics of certain existing Clue users (e.g. what they liked on Facebook.) We use this service so we can reach more people who have similar attributes or behavior of our users. For this purpose we may share your email address with Facebook if you log in to Clue using your Facebook account or downloaded Clue via a Facebook ad. In other words, if you never told Facebook you use Clue, we will not share that information. Additionally, Clue does not in any way share data you are tracking in the app (e.g. when you get your period) or any other personal information with Facebook.

    You can read more about Facebook lookalike audiences here.

  • 5. Cookies

    Our website uses cookies – small text files that help the site provide a better user experience. In general, cookies are used to retain user preferences, store information for things like shopping carts and provide anonymized tracking data to third party applications like Google Analytics. As a rule, cookies will make your browsing experience better. You may, however, disable cookies on Clue’s site. The most effective way to do this is to disable cookies in your browser. We suggest consulting the help section of your browser or taking a look at a website about cookies which offers guidance for your browser or device.

  • 6. Communications and newsletter activities

    Clue uses your personal information, such as your email address, to contact you with messages, emails, and newsletters. These include push notifications and in-app messages, informational content about female health via email, as well as occasional promotional material that may be of interest to you, also via email.

    Such newsletter services are only provided to you if you have signed up for the newsletter service or given your consent for these notifications. You can withdraw your consent at any time by unsubscribing from our newsletter. For providing such services, Clue may forward information such as your email address to third-party providers in order to carry out such newsletter service or notification. These providers are the Rocket Science Group LLC (“Mailchimp”), seated in Atlanta, USA, which may process your email address, names and usage data to send you informational and occasional commercial content via email; Leanplum Inc. (“Leanplum”), seated in San Francisco, USA, which may process your email address and a user identifier to send in-app messages, informational and occasional commercial content via email; and Message Systems Inc. (“SparkPost”) seated in San Francisco, USA, which processes names and email addresses as well as the personal information that may be included in transactional emails (e.g “I lost my password” or “verify your Clue account”) and to send you your cycle report via email.

    The privacy policy of these services can be found on their respective websites. These three companies are compliant with the EU-U.S. Privacy Shield Framework that ensures that European data privacy requirement are met.

    You can find more information about the Privacy Shield Framework here: https://www.privacyshield.gov/welcome

  • 7. COPPA

    Clue does not knowingly collect or use personal data from children under the age of 13. By registering to a Clue account you are required to confirm that you are at least 13 years old. If Clue gains actual knowledge that the information has been collected from children under the age of thirteen in the United States in contradiction with the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act of 1998 and the regulation thereunder, Clue will not disclose this data and reserves the right to immediately delete the account. For all COPPA-related questions, please contact us at support@helloclue.com.

  • 8. Changes to this Privacy Policy

    Clue reserves the right to amend this Privacy Policy from time to time to reflect changes in the law, our data collection and data use practices, the features of Clue’s services or advances in technology. Please check this page periodically for changes. If we make a change to this Privacy Policy that, in our sole discretion, is material, we will notify you by posting notice of these changes in this Privacy Policy.

    Clue is a company operated by Biowink GmbH, a German corporation, located in Berlin.