Politique de confidentialité et sécurité de Clue



La confidentialité de vos données joue un rôle primordial pour nous. Nous avons créé ce document afin de décrire le plus simplement possible la façon dont Clue gère vos données.

Vous pouvez également lire What it Means to be a Good Data Company par la directrice générale de Clue, Ida Tin. Contactez-nous si vous souhaitez recevoir plus d'informations.

Clue est basé à Berlin, en Allemagne, et la façon dont nous gérons les données répond aux directives juridiques requises en Allemagne.


  • 1. L'utilisation de vos données

    Nous collectons vos données dans deux buts : (1) Pour vous fournir le meilleur service possible et (2) pour soutenir la recherche sur la santé féminine dans le monde entier. Nous collaborons avec plusieurs instituts de recherche universitaires hautement estimés. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos collaborations de recherche en cours.

    L'ambition de la fondatrice de Clue, Ida Tin, est que Clue contribue à faire progresser la santé féminine dans le monde entier. Le chercheurs universitaires et cliniques n'ont à leur disposition que très peu de données de santé anonymes sur le long terme et à grande échelle et Clue peut aider à fournir des données anonymes pour la recherche. Avant que Clue ne fournisse ces données à la recherche, elles sont rendues anonymes par la suppression de toute information pouvant être utilisée pour l'identification d'individus. Les données de santé anonymes sur le cycle féminin peuvent être utilisées lorsque Clue collabore avec des chercheurs universitaires ou cliniques et Clue peut publier les résultats de recherches universitaires, cliniques ou internes sous forme de visualisations de données ou de rapports de données.

  • 2. Données personnelles que nous collectons

    Les « données personnelles » sont toute information permettant de vous identifier directement ou indirectement. Elles incluent les informations telles que votre nom, votre adresse, votre numéro de téléphone, votre adresse électronique ou votre date de naissance.

    Les « données non personnelles » sont les informations qui ne peuvent pas être mises en rapport avec votre identité, comme le nombre d'utilisateurs de nos services ou toutes autres sortes d'informations cumulatives.

    2.1

    Si vous utilisez l'application de Clue sans créer de compte, votre profil et vos données de suivi du cycle sont uniquement stockés sur votre appareil et Clue n'y a aucun accès.

    Dans ce cas, Clue reçoit uniquement les données d'utilisation fournies par votre appareil pendant que vous utilisez l'application, telles que votre adresse IP, le système d'exploitation mobile (p. ex. Android ou IOS), le type et le modèle de l'appareil ou le fournisseur de réseau. De cette façon, nous sommes en mesure d'identifier les dysfonctionnements de l'application Clue et de l'améliorer encore.

    Si toutefois vous sauvegardez votre appareil à l'aide d'un service tiers comme iCloud, vous transférez toutes vos données personnelles stockées sur votre appareil au tiers. Si vous utilisez un service tiers, consultez la politique de confidentialité de ce tiers afin de vous assurer de la confidentialité de vos données personnelles.

    2.2

    Si vous créez un compte sur l'application Clue, nous collecterons et stockerons les données suivantes si vous les entrez dans Clue :

    • Données de profil incluant votre nom, votre âge et votre adresse électronique. Certaines de ces étapes de l'installation de Clue peuvent être passées, vous pouvez donc avoir choisi de ne pas fournir ces informations.
    • Les données de paramétrage permettant à Clue de se souvenir des réglages que vous avez effectués (p. ex. quels rappels sont actifs, les notifications personnalisées, l'ordre des catégories de suivi, etc.). Ces données permettent à Clue de fonctionner de la façon dont vous le souhaitez, même après avoir restauré Clue à partir d'une sauvegarde.
    • Les données de suivi de votre cycle, c'est-à-dire les éléments que vous surveillez dans Clue, comme la durée des règles, les saignements, la douleur, etc. Ces données peuvent également inclure des informations de santé générales telles que le poids, la température corporelle, les cheveux, la peau et l'activité sexuelle, à condition que vous les surveilliez dans Clue.

    Si vous avez un compte chez Clue, les données stockées sur votre appareil sont également stockées sur les serveurs de Clue, afin de vous fournir un service de sauvegarde et des fonctionnalités supplémentaires dans Clue.

    En créant un compte chez Clue, vous acceptez que :

    • Clue stocke et traite les données personnelles que vous partagez, afin que vous puissiez profiter du service Clue. Clue stocke et traite également ces données pour améliorer les services proposés. Ces services incluent l'envoi d'informations et de rappels contenant des données personnelles via l'application ou à l'adresse électronique que vous avez fournie à Clue.
    • Clue utilise vos données de suivi du cycle pour regrouper des informations anonymes destinées à la recherche universitaire et clinique. Clue garantit que ces données de recherche ne peuvent pas être reliées à vous en tant qu'individu et ne permettent pas de vous identifier de quelle façon que ce soit.

    Vous pouvez résilier votre consentement à tout moment en demandant à Clue de supprimer votre compte. Pour demander la suppression de votre compte, [contactez l'équipe d'assistance de Clue]. Vous pourrez continuer à utiliser l'application Clue sans compte, mais veillez à sauvegarder manuellement vos données, car elles ne seront plus stockées sur les serveurs de Clue.

    Clue ne partage pas vos données personnelles avec des fournisseurs de services tiers, sauf dans la mesure requise pour les fonctionnalités de Clue que vous utilisez.

    2.3

    Si vous rencontrez un problème avec notre service et soumettez une demande à notre équipe d'assistance ou par tout autre moyen de communication avec Clue, nous stockons l'historique de la communication, ainsi que les informations que vous nous fournissez au cours de cette communication (p. ex. votre adresse électronique). Nous procédons de cette façon afin de répondre à vos requêtes et de fournir une assistance.

    2.4

    Lorsque vous utilisez notre site Web, notre serveur Web collecte les informations telles que :

    • Votre adresse IP
    • Le site Web à partir duquel un renvoi est effectué sur notre site (p. ex. si vous avez utilisé un lien)
    • Les pages Web que vous visitez sur notre site Web
    • Le navigateur que vous utilisez et ses paramètres d'affichage
    • Votre système d'exploitation
    • La date et la durée de votre visite
    • D'autres données personnelles sont uniquement stockées et traitées si vous les partagez volontairement avec nous, p. ex. via un formulaire de contact.

    Clue analyse les données d'utilisation de son site Web pour optimiser le contenu et les fonctionnalités du site et pour identifier les problèmes techniques.

  • 3. Sécurité des données

    Nous appliquons des mesures de sécurité afin de protéger les données personnelles sous notre responsabilité contre l'utilisation abusive, la perte ou l'altération et appliquons les meilleures pratiques du secteur, en utilisant des principes reconnus pour le transfert et le stockage de vos données. Bien que nous ne puissions pas garantir que l'utilisation abusive, la perte ou l'altération de données ne se produise pas, nous faisons de notre mieux pour l'éviter.

    3.1 Comment Clue stocke vos données personnelles

    Si vous avez un compte chez Clue, les données de votre profil personnel sont stockées séparément de vos données de suivi du cycle et de vos réglages du service afin d'assurer un niveau maximum de confidentialité des informations sur votre cycle. Votre mot de passe est stocké avec un cryptage unidirectionnel (« hachage » plus « salage ») et ne peut pas être lu par les employés de Clue.

    Vos données sont transmises entre votre appareil et les serveurs de Clue à l'aide du protocole HTTPS pour le cryptage. HTTPS est la même technologie utilisée pour créer des connexions sécurisées dans votre navigateur ; elle est indiquée par un cadenas.

    3.2 Recommandations de meilleure pratique de Clue pour la protection de vos données

    Nous pensons que la plus grande menace pour la sécurité et la confidentialité de vos données est si quelqu'un – probablement quelqu'un que vous connaissez – a accès à l'un de vos appareils. Les données que vous saisissez dans Clue sont privées et doivent le rester. Ci-dessous nous vous donnons quelques indications pour garantir la sécurité de vos appareils.

    • Utilisez un code PIN unique ou activez TouchID (iOS) pour Clue. Si vous partagez votre appareil, l'utilisation d'un code PIN unique ou de TouchID va garantir que vous soyez réellement la seule personne pouvant accéder à vos données Clue via votre téléphone.
    • Activez l'identification par code PIN ou TouchID (iOS) sur votre appareil. De cette manière vos données Clue sont cryptées et aucune personne n'ayant pas votre autorisation ne pourra utiliser votre appareil.
    • Mettez en place une fonction vous permettant de supprimer toute donnée de votre appareil, même s'il a été perdu ou volé. Sous iOS, l'activation de cette fonction est un processus en deux étapes : vous devez d'abord activer « Localiser mon iPhone » via iCloud (consultez les instructions dans l'aide d'Apple), puis activez « Effacer votre appareil » (consultez les instructions dans l'aide d'Apple).
    • Utilisez des fonctions similaires pour votre appareil Android ou autre non iOS.

    Si vous n'ouvrez pas de compte chez Clue, toutes vos données sont stockées sur votre appareil et nous n'y avons pas accès. Si vous supprimez Clue ou si vous perdez votre appareil, vos données dans Clue sont également supprimées ou perdues. Si vous n'avez pas de compte chez Clue, nous vous recommandons fortement d'effectuer régulièrement une sauvegarde de vos données Clue.

    Pour sauvegarder Clue sous iOS sans compte :

    • Utilisez la fonction de sauvegarde via iTunes ou iCloud. Consultez l'aide d'Apple pour plus de détails.
    • Utilisez la fonction de sauvegarde de Clue pour stocker vos données à un emplacement de votre choix. Vous pouvez ainsi effectuer votre propre sauvegarde que vous pouvez réimporter dans Clue si nécessaire. Elle ne nécessite pas de compte Clue ou de sauvegarde proposée par Apple via iTunes ou iCloud.

    Pour la sauvegarde de Clue sous Android sans compte :

    • Utilisez les fonctions de sauvegarde et d'import de Clue pour stocker vos données à un emplacement de votre choix. Vous pouvez ainsi effectuer votre propre sauvegarde que vous pouvez réimporter dans Clue si nécessaire.
  • 4. Transfert de données en dehors de l'Union Européenne ou à destination d'applications tierces

    4.1

    Vos données personnelles collectées peuvent être transférées dans les pays hors de l'Union Européenne ou de l'Espace Économique Européen (EEE) uniquement eu égard aux réglementations de confidentialité applicables et dans le respect de la protection de vos droits de confidentialité.

    4.2 Apple Health

    Clue n'échange aucune donnée personnelle avec Apple Health sans votre consentement préalable, celui-ci pouvant être résilié à tout moment. Si vous donnez votre consentement, Clue peut interagir avec Apple HealthKit installé sur votre appareil iOS et des informations peuvent être échangées entre l'application Clue et Apple Health. Vous pouvez choisir si et dans quelle mesure vos données personnelles sont échangées entre Clue et Apple Health en donnant ou non l'autorisation dans les réglages d'Apple Health.

    4.3 Google Analytics

    Notre site Web utilise Google Analytics, un service d'analyse Web exploité par Google Inc. (« Google »). Google Analytics utilise des cookies (fichiers texte) qui sont stockés sur votre ordinateur et qui permettent d'analyser votre visite sur le site. Les informations produites via les cookies sont transférées et stockées sur un serveur exploité par Google aux États Unis. Pour éviter que vos données personnelles soient collectées grâce à vos adresses IP, nous utilisons le complément Google Analytics « _anonymizeIp() ». Grâce à lui, une adresse IP raccourcie (ou anonyme) est envoyée à Google.

    Google analyse ces informations pour fournir à Clue des rapports sur l'utilisation du site Web et l'utilisation en ligne de services associés. Google peut également transférer ces informations à des tiers, soit parce que la loi l’exige, soit parce que ces tiers sont engagés par Google pour le traitement des données. Google ne permettra pas que votre adresse IP soit reliée à toute autre donnée personnelle. Vous pouvez éviter l'installation des cookies sur votre ordinateur en modifiant les réglages de votre navigateur. Toutefois, si vous décidez de bloquer les cookies, certaines fonctions de notre site Web peuvent ne pas fonctionner ou vous pourriez ne pas être en mesure d'utiliser le site Web. En utilisant le site Web de Clue, vous consentez à ce que Google utilise et traite des données non personnelles de la façon décrite ci-dessus. Vous pouvez résilier votre consentement à la collecte et au traitement de vos données à tout moment, mais cette résiliation ne s'applique qu'aux activités futures.

    4.4 Branch

    Clue utilise les services d'un tiers, Branch Metrics Inc., une entreprise basée aux États Unis, pour les fonctions nécessitant des « liens profonds ». Ils sont utilisés pour vous permettre p. ex. d'inviter vos amis à utiliser Clue et à télécharger l'application à partir de l'App Store ou du Google Play Store. L'utilisation de ces liens profonds va envoyer des données d'utilisation comme votre adresse IP à Branch Metrics. L'utilisation des liens profonds ne transfère aucune de vos données de suivi du cycle à des tiers.

    4.5 Amplitude

    Clue utilise un service d'analyse de données exploité par Amplitude. Amplitude utilise des identificateurs d'appareil stockés sur votre appareil mobile, permettant d'analyser votre utilisation de Clue. Pour l'analyse de site Web, Amplitude utilise des « cookies » (petits fichiers texte) stockés sur votre ordinateur et permettant d'analyser votre visite sur notre site Web. Les données concernant votre utilisation sont transférées et stockées sur un serveur exploité par Amplitude aux États Unis.

    Vous pouvez éviter l'installation des cookies sur votre ordinateur en modifiant les réglages de votre navigateur. Toutefois, si vous décidez de bloquer les cookies, certaines fonctions de notre site Web peuvent ne pas fonctionner ou vous pourriez ne pas être en mesure d'utiliser le site Web. En utilisant notre service, vous consentez expressément à l'utilisation et au traitement des données collectées par Amplitude de la façon décrite ci-dessus.

    Vous pouvez résilier votre consentement à la collecte et le traitement de vos données à tout moment en cliquant sur ce LIEN, qui va vous fournir un cookie de désactivation empêchant davantage de collecte de données.

  • 5. Cookies

    Notre site Web utilise des cookies – des petits fichiers texte, permettant au site de fournir une meilleure expérience utilisateur. En général, les cookies sont utilisés pour enregistrer les préférences de l'utilisateur, stocker les informations comme les paniers d'achat et fournir des données de suivi anonymes aux applications tierces comme Google Analytics. En règle générale, les cookies améliorent votre expérience de navigation. Toutefois, vous pouvez désactiver les cookies sur le site de Clue. La meilleure façon de le faire est de désactiver les cookies dans votre navigateur. Nous vous suggérons de consulter l'aide de votre navigateur ou de trouver un site Web sur les cookies qui pourra vous proposer de l'aide avec votre navigateur ou votre appareil.

  • 6. COPPA

    Clue ne recueille pas délibérément de données personnelles relatives aux enfants de moins de 13 ans. Lorsque vous créez un compte chez Clue, il vous est demandé de confirmer que vous avez au moins 13 ans. Si Clue prend connaissance d'informations ayant été collectées auprès d'enfants de moins de 13 ans aux États Unis, acte allant à l'encontre du Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA, Acte de protection de la confidentialité en ligne des enfants) de 1998 et de la réglementation d'application, Clue ne publiera pas ces données et se réserve le droit de supprimer immédiatement le compte. Pour toute question relative au COPPA, veuillez nous contacter à l'adresse data@helloclue.com.

  • 7. Modifications de cette politique de confidentialité

    Clue se réserve le droit d'apporter des modifications à cette politique de confidentialité de temps à autre afin de prendre en compte les modifications de la loi, de nos pratiques de collecte et d'utilisation des données, des fonctions des services de Clue ou les progrès technologiques. Merci de consulter régulièrement cette page en cas d'éventuelles modifications. Si nous apportons des modifications à cette politique de confidentialité qui, à notre seule discrétion, ont une incidence importante, nous vous en informerons en signalant ces modifications sur notre site Web et dans cette politique de confidentialité.

    Clue est une entreprise exploitée par Biowink GmbH, une société allemande située à Berlin.

Clue Privacy Policy



Your personal data and your privacy are important to us. We created this document to describe how Clue handles your personal data in a way that we hope is easy to understand.

You can also read What it Means to be a Good Data Company, by Clue’s CEO, Ida Tin.

Please contact us if you’d like more information.

Clue is made in Berlin, Germany, and the way we handle data meets the legal guidelines required in Germany.


  • 1. How your data is used

    We collect data with two goals in mind; (1) to provide you with a great service and (2) to help progress research into female health globally. We collaborate with several highly esteemed academic research institutions. You can read about our ongoing research collaborations here.

    The vision of Clue’s founder, Ida Tin, is for Clue to help advance female health globally. There is very little anonymous long-term or large-scale cycle health data available to academic and clinical researchers and Clue can help by providing anonymous data for research. Before Clue provides data for research, the data is anonymized by removing any information that can be used for the identification of individuals. Anonymous cycle health data may be used when Clue collaborates with clinical and academic researchers and Clue may publish the results of academic, clinical or internal research in the form of data visualizations or text findings.

  • 2. Personal data we collect

    “Personal data” includes any information that directly or indirectly identifies you. This includes things like your name, address, telephone number, email address or date of birth.

    “Non-personal data” is information that cannot be connected to your identity, e.g. the number of users visiting our services or any other kind of aggregated information.

    2.1

    If you use the Clue app without creating an account, your profile and cycle tracking data is only stored on your device and Clue does not have any access to it.

    In this instance, Clue only receives usage data provided by your device while you are using Clue, such as your IP address, mobile operating system (e.g. Android or iOS), device type and model, or network provider. This helps to identify app malfunctions and helps us further improve the Clue app.

    If, however, you backup your device using a third party service, such as iCloud, you will transfer all personal data stored on your device to the third party. If you are using a third party service, please refer to their privacy policy to ensure the privacy of your personal data.

    2.2

    If you create an account on the Clue app then we will collect and store the following data, providing you have entered it into Clue:

    • Profile data including your name, age and email address. You can skip some of this information during Clue’s setup, so you may have chosen not to provide this.
    • Your settings data which allows Clue to remember any customizations you have made (i.e. which reminders are active, customized notifications, the order of tracking categories, etc.) This helps Clue continue to work the way you want it to, even if you restore Clue from a backup.
    • Your cycle tracking data which includes the things you track in Clue, e.g. period length, bleeding, pain, etc. This could also include information about general health conditions such as weight, body temperature, hair and skin condition and sexual activity, providing you are tracking these using Clue.

    If you have an account with Clue, your data stored on your devices will also be stored on Clue’s servers to provide you with a backup functionality and with additional features within the Clue service.

    By creating an account with Clue you agree that:

    • Clue may store and process personal data you share with Clue in order to provide the Clue service to you. Clue may also store and process this data to improve the services Clue is able to offer. These services include sending you information and reminders featuring personal data through the app or to the email address you shared with Clue.
    • Clue may use your cycle tracking data to create anonymous information for academic and clinical research purposes, for which Clue warrants that such research data cannot be associated with you as an individual, or identify you in any way.

    You may withdraw your consent at any time by requesting that Clue delete your account. To do that, contact Clue’s support team. You will still be able to continue using the Clue app without an account, but please manually backup your data as this will no longer be stored on Clue’s servers.

    Clue does not share your personal data with third party service providers except as required to provide the Clue features you use.

    2.3

    If you recognize a problem with our service and submit a request to our support team or through any other means of communication with Clue, we store the communication history as well as the information submitted by you in the course of the communication (e.g. your email address). We do this in order to respond to inquiries and provide support.

    2.4

    When using our website, our web server will collect information such as:

    • Your IP address
    • The website from which you were referred to our website (e.g. if you followed a link)
    • The webpages you are visiting on our website
    • The browser you are using and its display settings
    • Your operating system
    • The date and duration of your visit
    • Further personal data will only be stored and processed if you voluntarily share it with us, e.g. through a contact form

    Clue analyzes website usage data to optimize the site’s content and functionality and to identify technical issues.

  • 3. Data Security

    We apply security measures to protect against the misuse, loss and alteration of personal information under our control and follow industry best practices, using open and known principles when transferring and storing your data. Though we cannot ensure or guarantee that misuse, loss or alteration of information will never occur, we use all reasonable efforts to prevent it.

    3.1 How Clue stores your personal data

    If you have an account with Clue, your personal profile data is stored separately from your cycle tracking data and your service settings, so that we can assure a very high level of privacy for your cycle information. Your password is stored using one-way encryption ("hashing" plus “salting”), and it cannot be read by us.

    Your data is transmitted between your device and Clue’s servers using HTTPS protocol for encryption. HTTPS is the same technology used to create secure connections for your web browser, and is indicated by a padlock icon in your browser.

    3.2 Clue’s best-practice recommendations to protect your data

    We believe the biggest threat to the security and privacy of your data is if someone – probably someone you know – gains access to any of your devices. The data you enter into Clue is private and it should stay that way. Below we have outlined some ways to keep your devices secure.

    • Activate a unique PIN code or activate TouchID (iOS) for Clue. If you share your device, activating a unique PIN code or TouchID will ensure you are still the only person who can access your Clue data via your phone.
    • Activate either PIN or TouchID (iOS) authentication for your device. This automatically encrypts your Clue data and prevents any person without permission from using your device.
    • Set up a feature that will allow you to erase all the data from your device, even if it’s been lost or stolen. For iOS, activating this feature is a two-step process: first you need to Activate “Find My iPhone” via iCloud (see instructions on Apple Support pages) and then enable “Erase your device” (see instructions on Apple Support pages)
    • Use similar features for your Android or other non-iOS device.

    If you don’t register an account with Clue, all of your data will be stored on your device and we won’t have access to it. If you delete Clue or lose your device, your data in Clue is also deleted or lost. If you don’t have an account with Clue, we strongly recommend that you make a backup of your Clue data regularly.

    To back up Clue on iOS without an account:

    • Use Apple’s backup solution via iTunes or iCloud. See Apple’s support pages for instructions.
    • Use Clue’s Backup feature to store your data in a location of your choice. This can serve as your own backup that you can import back into Clue if needed, and it does not require you to use Clue’s account feature or backups provided by Apple via iTunes or iCloud.

    To back up Clue on Android without an account:

    • Use Clue’s Backup/Import features to store your data in a location of your choice. This can serve as your personal backup that you can import back into Clue if needed.
  • 4. Data transfer outside EU and third party applications

    4.1

    Any personal data collected from you may only be transferred to countries outside the European Union / the European Economic Area (EEA) observing applicable privacy regulation and ensuring that your privacy rights remain protected.

    4.2 Apple Health

    Clue will not exchange any personal data with Apple Health without your prior approval, which can be revoked by you at any time. If you have given your approval, Clue may interact with the Apple HealthKit which is installed on your iOS device and read information or write information between Clue app and Apple Health. You can choose if and to what extent your personal data is exchanged between Clue and Apple Health by granting or revoking permission in the Apple Health settings.

    4.3 Google Fit

    Clue will not exchange any personal data with Google Fit without your prior approval, which can be revoked by you at any time. If you have given your approval, Clue may interact with Google Fit which is installed on your Android device and read information or write information between the Clue app and Google Fit. You can choose whether or not your personal data is exchanged between Clue and Google Fit by granting or revoking permission in the Google Fit settings.

    4.4 Third-party wearable devices (e.g. Fitbit, ŌURA and others)

    Clue will not exchange any personal data with your third-party wearable devices (such as Fitbit, ŌURA etc.) without your prior approval, which can be revoked by you at any time. If you have given your approval, Clue may interact with the respective third-party device software which is installed on your Android or iPhone device and read information or write information between the Clue app and your respective third party device. You can choose whether or not your personal data is exchanged between Clue and these third-party devices by granting or revoking permission in their respective settings.

    4.5 Google Analytics

    Our website uses Google Analytics, a web analysis service operated by Google Inc. (“Google”). Google Analytics uses cookies (text files) which are stored on your computer and allow for analysis of your visit to the site. Information produced via cookies will be transferred to and stored on a server in the USA operated by Google. To avoid your personal data being collected through IP addresses, we use Google Analytics add-on “_anonymizeIp()”. As a result, a shortened (or anonymous) IP address is sent to Google.

    Google analyzes this information to offer reports for Clue on website usage and online usage of associated services. Google may also transfer this information to third parties either where this is required by law or where third parties are contracted by Google to process data. Google will not allow your IP address to be linked to any other personal data. You can prevent cookies from being installed on your computer by changing your browser settings; however, if you choose to do this, your visit to our website and use of some features may not work. By using Clue’s website, you have consented to have non-personal data used and processed by Google as described above. You can withdraw consent for your data to be collected and processed at any time, but this withdrawal only applies to future activities.

    4.6 Branch

    Clue uses a third-party service, Branch Metrics Inc., a company based in the USA, for features where ‘deep linking’ is required. It is used e.g. to enable you to invite your friends to use Clue and download it from the App Store or Google Play Store. Using this deep linking service will send usage data such as your IP address to Branch Metrics. Using deep linking does not transfer any of your cycle tracking data to third parties.

    4.7 Amplitude

    Clue uses a data analysis service operated by Amplitude. Amplitude uses device identifiers that are stored on your mobile device and allow for analysis of your use of the Clue app. For website analysis, Amplitude uses ‘cookies’ (small text files) that are stored on your computer and allow for analysis of your visit to our website. Data concerning your use will be transferred to and stored on a server in the USA operated by Amplitude.

    You can prevent cookies from being installed on your computer by changing your browser settings; however, if you choose to do this, your visit to our website and use of some functionalities of our service may be impaired. By using our Service, you are deemed to have expressly consented to the use and processing of your data collected by Amplitude as described above.

    4.8 Adjust

    Clue uses an in app performance and analysis service by Adjust, a Berlin-based company that helps us understand how our users are interacting with our apps and how to optimize and analyze mobile ad campaigns. For such analysis and depending on your mobile operating system (iOS or Android), Adjust uses your given advertising identifier (Apple IDFA or your Google Play Services ID), and your IP- and MAC addresses that are modified in such a way that it is not possible to identify you or your mobile device individually.

    By using our Service, you are deemed to have expressly consented to the use and processing of your data collected by Adjust as described above.

    4.9 Facebook Lookalike Audience

    If you have communicated to Facebook that you are using the Clue app, Clue may use this information via a Facebook advertising service called “lookalike audiences” to identify potential new Clue users based on the Facebook characteristics of certain existing Clue users (e.g. what they liked on Facebook.) We use this service so we can reach more people who have similar attributes or behavior of our users. For this purpose we may share your email address with Facebook if you log in to Clue using your Facebook account or downloaded Clue via a Facebook ad. In other words, if you never told Facebook you use Clue, we will not share that information. Additionally, Clue does not in any way share data you are tracking in the app (e.g. when you get your period) or any other personal information with Facebook.

    You can read more about Facebook lookalike audiences here.

  • 5. Cookies

    Our website uses cookies – small text files that help the site provide a better user experience. In general, cookies are used to retain user preferences, store information for things like shopping carts and provide anonymized tracking data to third party applications like Google Analytics. As a rule, cookies will make your browsing experience better. You may, however, disable cookies on Clue’s site. The most effective way to do this is to disable cookies in your browser. We suggest consulting the help section of your browser or taking a look at a website about cookies which offers guidance for your browser or device.

  • 6. Communications and newsletter activities

    Clue uses your personal information, such as your email address, to contact you with messages, emails, and newsletters. These include push notifications and in-app messages, informational content about female health via email, as well as occasional promotional material that may be of interest to you, also via email.

    Such newsletter services are only provided to you if you have signed up for the newsletter service or given your consent for these notifications. You can withdraw your consent at any time by unsubscribing from our newsletter. For providing such services, Clue may forward information such as your email address to third-party providers in order to carry out such newsletter service or notification. These providers are the Rocket Science Group LLC (“Mailchimp”), seated in Atlanta, USA, which may process your email address, names and usage data to send you informational and occasional commercial content via email; Leanplum Inc. (“Leanplum”), seated in San Francisco, USA, which may process your email address and a user identifier to send in-app messages, informational and occasional commercial content via email; and Message Systems Inc. (“SparkPost”) seated in San Francisco, USA, which processes names and email addresses as well as the personal information that may be included in transactional emails (e.g “I lost my password” or “verify your Clue account”) and to send you your cycle report via email.

    The privacy policy of these services can be found on their respective websites. These three companies are compliant with the EU-U.S. Privacy Shield Framework that ensures that European data privacy requirement are met.

    You can find more information about the Privacy Shield Framework here: https://www.privacyshield.gov/welcome

  • 7. COPPA

    Clue does not knowingly collect or use personal data from children under the age of 13. By registering to a Clue account you are required to confirm that you are at least 13 years old. If Clue gains actual knowledge that the information has been collected from children under the age of thirteen in the United States in contradiction with the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act of 1998 and the regulation thereunder, Clue will not disclose this data and reserves the right to immediately delete the account. For all COPPA-related questions, please contact us at support@helloclue.com.

  • 8. Changes to this Privacy Policy

    Clue reserves the right to amend this Privacy Policy from time to time to reflect changes in the law, our data collection and data use practices, the features of Clue’s services or advances in technology. Please check this page periodically for changes. If we make a change to this Privacy Policy that, in our sole discretion, is material, we will notify you by posting notice of these changes in this Privacy Policy.

    Clue is a company operated by Biowink GmbH, a German corporation, located in Berlin.